Christmas Perfect!

12309744_10153812735984883_5296744520937729813_o

One of the first chances I’ve had to just sit down and write all Holiday Season.  My focus has been on a great many things but I didn’t want to completely neglect my writing.  I wanted to share from my heart a little of what I as a Mom feel around Christmas time. 

This year the decorations are simple.  Just a tree and garland on the fireplace.  I still haven’t managed to get the table cleared off.  There was no room in the budget for anything extra so this is it.  I like it this way though.  I mean sure, I would love to have a sound system to play Christmas music on, soy candles with lovely oils dripped on them, a little more twinkle and a little less normal.  Those things aren’t really what matters though.

Every year I dream of the perfect holiday break.  With Christmas cookies (gluten & dairy free of course), Christmas parties, holiday photo challenges, family and friends.  So far I’ve spent all of it laid up in bed with some horrible throat thing that has completely destroyed any dream of caroling this year (not that I had any plans to carol).  

As I’ve sat here, reading the best there is in parenting books, knitting and in general catching up on all the things I normally don’t do,  I was struck with the fact that any “perfectly” planned Christmas would be wrong on so many levels.  Not that people shouldn’t have them!  If you can pull one off, good for you! (I don’t mean Facebook thinks you’ve had a perfect Christmas.  I mean an honest to goodness: the turkey hit the table right on time, Uncle Albert didn’t get drunk, every present was wrapped and matched, Christmas carols, Christmas cookies, Christmas cards with Christmas photos and no one can cry the whole season)

You see the mess, the problems, the tears, the laughter all of that is what Christmas is.  Jesus came to us as a baby.  The reservations weren’t made.  They were the last to arrive because women riding on a donkey who are pregnant have to take a lot of bathroom breaks.  Mom and Dad were tired before bringing a baby into this world.  They wrapped the Lord of Heaven’s Armies in swaddling clothes and placed our Glorious King in a manger.  That is what Christmas is all about.  Not the bright lights and pretty colors.  It’s about God sending his only son as a baby that we might “grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love” of God for us. (Ephesians 3:18b)

Merry Christmas!

12295353_10153348542532857_7877616506745283419_n

 

Leave a Reply

