2nd Gift: Friendship

One of my favorite parts of December is: My church always reads parts of the Christmas story through the week and then our Pastor preaches on the section we read.  This years Christmas series has been titled: Limitless!

This weeks reading is Luke 1:5-80

Now Mary arose in those days and went into the hill country with haste, to a city of Judah and entered the house of Zacharias and greeted Elizabeth.

When I read this I had to stop for a minute and picture the scene.  Mary had just been told that she was going to have a baby, conceived by the Holy Spirit.  She is sitting at her kitchen table and thinks to herself:  No one is going to believe me.  I can’t tell my parents, I can’t tell Joseph… then she remembers.  Gabriel said that Elizabeth is pregnant.  She lives far enough away that no one will really know who I am.  She will believe me, I mean come on she is apparently pregnant and we all knew she couldn’t have any children.

What a gift!  God sent a messenger and God sent someone to help Mary through the first 3 months of pregnancy.  Women were created to be relational and God makes sure that the mother of his son is given someone older and wiser to lean on during this time.  I want to be Elizabeth for other women.  I want to believe because I have seen just how powerful God is.  I have dear women in my life who have been my Elizabeth many times.  The people who come in and out of your life are not an accident.  God planned Mary and Elizabeth’s friendship from before time, he made sure that everything happened so that they would be there for each other.  Our friendships are a gift from God.

 

Read also: 1st Gift: Hope

 

Leave a Reply

