To: Andy Andrews (Author of: The 7 Decisions)

Dear Andy Andrews,

I wanted to take the time to thank you for writing the book: The Seven Decisions: Understanding the Keys to Personal Success.  I just finished listening to it on Audible the other day and have sense gone to the library to pick up some biographies.  I also plan to pick up a copy of the book soon so that I can go back through it following your journaling instructions and questions.  I look forward to the impact and change that will have on my life.  I would like to quickly go threw all seven decisions and tell you what they mean to me:

I have never once thought of responsibility as the keys to freedom.  This new perspective opened my eyes to a new world of possibilities.  Excepting my past and moving on into a future I have a say in.  I no longer let my history control my destiny.  Prior to reading your book I read, Switch on Your Brain by Caroline Leaf, your book was the perfect follow up.  First Caroline reminded me that my brain doesn’t tell me what to do, I tell my brain what to do.  Then reading that “my decisions have always been governed by my thinking” it was a very powerful reminder of the wonderful creation God made in his image.  I’ve committed to the buck stopping here.

My generation seems intent on self destruction by way of consulting only with our peers regarding decisions that we make.  I have to admit when I went to the library to pick up the Biography of Steve Jobs I had to find the library and get a library card.  I don’t believe I’ve stepped in a library for 11 years.  I’ve committed to guarding what my mind is being feed.  Your explanation of how we become like those around us has opened my eyes to the associations I make and the amount of joy I find spending time with people who have and seek wisdom.

Over the years the world as a whole has removed my desire to be active.  I realize now that it is their own decisions that they are upset with and not me.  I have once again committed to be active, allowing people to move out of my way and encouraging those who are caught up in my wake.

Life is just making the next right decision.  I have always known that not making a decisions is far worse than making the wrong one. Your words have encouraged this mindset in me.  I am now able to take hold of my dreams, without guilt knowing that God made me capable of making decisions.  Your words:  “I am passionate about my vision for the future. My course has been charted. My destiny is assured. I have a decided heart.”  Will stay with me forever.

I smile even thinking about the 5th decision.  What a wonderful, exciting and breathtaking realization: I can choose to be happy.  Happiness is a choice.  Greeting each day with laughter is the medication that the world is searching for.  I can’t help but laugh knowing that a $300 billion industry would be crippled if people would simply laugh.  People with depression, anxiety and so many others, would benefit more from a prescription of “laugh once every morning for 5 minutes,” than any drug that is currently on the market.  I love having a grateful and joyful spirit.

I have often studied and practiced forgiveness while missing a vital area of it.  If I forgive before I react then I can respond instead.  To forgive in the moment, keeping forgiveness at the front of my mind has begun to free me from reacting badly on so many occasions.  Then accepting the need to forgive myself I have found the doors of possibility thrown open and am so thankful for the freedom there is in forgiveness.

The remaining decision reminds me of Paul’s letter to the Philippians “I will press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”  I will persist without exception.

I am so very thankful for the wisdom that you have shared with myself and the rest of the world.  It was a true privilege to read.  I have made a note to myself to send you a letter in five years to tell you about my own failures and how I have gotten back up and continued to make these seven decisions.

Sincerely,

Aubrie Smith

7

Leave a Reply

