Almost November (Day 31: Almost)

I am a strict believer that holidays should not be skipped.  Even when you are not a fan of the holiday, you should allow other people to enjoy it and keep to yourself.  I do not decorate for Christmas until the day after Thanksgiving, at which time I start gathering mailing addresses so my Christmas cards can be sent out on December 1st.  There is only one real holiday that I would willingly skip if only the rest of my house would get on board with it: Halloween or as I call it “Almost November.”

Now I truly understand that some people enjoy this holiday A LOT.  The dressing up.  The candy.  The parties.  I wish I could get excited about it, but I just can’t.  Thanksgiving has a wonderful “beginning of the holidays” feel to it.  Lots of love and thanks shared all around.  Christmas has this happy “God bless us everyone,” vibe to it.  New Years has a slightly suicidal, nostalgic excitement to it.  Valentines day has a homicidal, man hating feel to it with a hint of love for those blessed souls that manage not to screw up on Valentines Day.  I could go on but I think you get the drift.  Halloween to me has a dark feel to it.  No matter how many times I tell myself that it’s all pretend, if you show up at my house with a fake weapon I will draw on you and expect you to put the s@#$ down before I will then check for any real weapons, give you candy and send you on your way (without your fake weapon that almost got you shot).  Almost November to me is some horrible test that you have to pass in order to enjoy the “real” holidays.  

Just to review:

  • Halloween has been re-named “Almost November”
  • Holidays should not be skipped – LAY OFF THE CHRISTMAS MUSIC
  • If you show up at my house with a fake weapon you might be shot

So Happy Freakin’ Halloween People 

Leave a Reply

