Catching The Wave ( Day 21: Wave)

Gently rocking on your board, feet in the water and looking at the shore.  There is something about seeing your world from this angle that makes it feel different.  Like anything is possible, like the problems are smaller or that you don’t have to go back if you don’t want to.  A wave lifts you up higher as if to give you a better look.  Yep, the world is smaller from here.  Then you feel it.  You don’t even have to look, but you can’t help yourself.  Something about the pull of the water tells you it’s your wave.  Something in your soul knows that this is the one.  Gracefully (or not so gracefully in my case) you swiftly, lay down on your board and start building the momentum that you need to catch it.  Then it catches you.  Without thinking you lift yourself up onto your feet (I know it has to be without thinking because I can barely lift myself off the floor at home) and you ride the wave.  It’s glorious!

So here I am starting my momentum.  This is my wave.  I know it.  I wont miss it, I can’t miss it.  Before I know it my wave will catch me and all I have to do is ride it and experience everything that it has to offer.  Now for a little honesty.  I’m scared.  I have a complete hang up about calling people (hang up, ha, sorry couldn’t help it).  It’s like I’m surfing with my big brother who is taunting me the whole time, “are you sure that wave isn’t too big sis.”  I go to make a phone call and freeze: what if they are busy.  Now, I know what I do when I’m busy… I don’t answer the phone.  So why on earth am I letting this little hang up prevent me from riding my wave?

If you’ve ever been surfing you know what it’s like to not build enough momentum and miss a wave that is THE wave.  You also know what it’s like to have just paddled all the way back out and not “feel” like catching one just yet, only to see the wave break in that perfect pattern.  If you haven’t been surfing it’s a lot like being 5 and having the ice cream fall off the cone.  

I have to admit I feel pretty bad.  I’ve kept this amazing surf location all to myself.  When, lets face it, there is nothing like riding the waves with your friends.  So what are you waiting for?  Come join me!

~ Click Here ~ Your Wave ~

Surf

Leave a comment