Commanded to Rest (Day 11: Rest)

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” ~ Matthew 11:28-30

This verse is the first thing that comes to mind when I hear the word rest.  Rest is discussed so many times in the Bible from Day 7: and on the 7th day He rested.  This is a natural desire of our heart, to rest.  Jesus even had to take a break from everything and find rest for Himself.

So why do we let satan take this away from us?  Especially us women.  We listen to the lies and the business and refuse to find rest.  We wait until we can’t take one more thing, can’t hold our eyes open for one more second to finally crash.  Jesus calls us to come to Him… not when we’re dead, but in the midst of our weariness and burden.  I know the lies that you hear, I hear them too:

“You have so much to do.  You need to….”

“Sure take a break from everything.  That won’t bite you later when the cookies aren’t done for Jonny’s school event”

“It would be selfish to not help out with the baby shower just because I had hoped to take a nap Saturday afternoon while my husband took the kids to the park.”

Believe me.  We’ve all heard the same lies.  The question is, how much easier would life be if we took the time to rest?  How much more could we truly do if we gave our body what it’s been asking for?  How much easier would it be to not get frustrated with our kids?

Now I know that rest isn’t always an actual physical rest.  I know that there are times when things are crazy.  I mean really CRAZY and God pours out His Holy Spirit on us and gives us a rest that refreshes us, that brings us peace and helps us in the hardest of times.  Where God guides he provides and sometimes that means refreshing us without rest.  I’ve experienced those times too.  They are the exception not the rule.  I don’t know about you but I am well aware that I can’t control when they crazy is going to happen.  I can control when it’s not crazy and making a choice to obey God’s command to rest.  I mean it is in the Big 10 right?  “Remember the Sabbath day and keep it holy.”  We are to keep our rest holy (meaning set apart).

I don’t know if you’ve ever purposefully tried to get your 8 hours of sleep a night.  It’s 10x harder then exercising every day or being on a diet.  I’m telling you satan knows that when we are rested we are at our most powerful and he does not want that to happen.

I’m just going to leave you with one last thought for tonight.  What would it take for you to obey God and rest?

PS This is a huge area of struggle for me and one that I need to work on.


This post is part of the Write 31 Days Challenge. To see the rest of the posts in this challenge, click here

Leave a Reply

